The CPC 100 games bundle – Tape 6, Side B

Oh gosh!!!! 8 months passed since I last turned on my beautiful Amstrad CPC 464+ . The last time I did it, my baby had 2 months and I was living in Italy. Now my baby turns 10 months and I … live in Spain. That’s what happens when you don’t do enough retrogaming and too much real life.

Now that I’m all settled in Madrid, I finally have a lonely weekend to dedicate to my hobbies. Outside is 38°C, everybody is at the swimming pool, and I’m quietly enjoying my Amstrad and a frozen Mahou (a local beer).

Enjoy the trip to Tape 6, Side B!

  1. Room Ten, Crl Group, 1986
  2. Ahhh!!!, Crl Group, 1985
  3. Kane, Mastertronic, 1986
  4. Fighting Warrior, Melbourne House, 1985
  5. Kwah, Melbourn House, 1986
  6. Xcel, Mastertronic, 1987
  7. Vagan Attack, Atlantis Software, 1985

Unfortunately, the tape struggles to load the games. I tried the whole tape and could play only the last two games, apart from enjoying the loading routine (that was once such a pain!). In this tape there is one of the games a played the most, Kane. I must have played hundreds of games at Kane, but I don’t think I rarely passed the second level, the one where you are on the horse, chasing the train. But I surely did not pass the third level, the showdown in the western city.

And, apart from nostalgia, the truth is that most of the games of Amstrad were badly balanced and badly tested. I know that at that time the budgets for production were incredibly limited, but some games should not have been published at all. I remember the frustration, coming back from the shop, after weeks begging your parents for a new game, and then the game sucked. Over the weekend at my friends’ houses I could see the Commodore 64 in action, and, god!, that was another league.

But it is what it is, when you grew up in the 80s, and did not have access to magazines and other sources of information. I was just staring at those beautiful boxes and pick up the one that looked better. I still have many of them.. And I have to say they still look gorgeous!

Leave a comment